1. Cedar Works Buildings
Before Cedar Works became one of our first residential buildings here at
Rocketts Landing, it was the former location of Richmond Cedar Works
Manufacturing Co. This turn-of-the-century factory was founded in 1884 and used
steam-powered equipment to churn out everything from ice cream freezers to
decorative woodenware. While the
machinery’s been gone for decades, reminders of the building’s industrial roots
remain. During renovations, developer WVS Companies purposefully maintained the
exposed columns, brick, woodwork and other unique details, such as workers’
initials hammered in nails on columns. (And rumor has it that you can also
still get a whiff of the cedar lingering from decades past.)
Cedar Works residential building and BrownGreer connect with a pedestrian bridge along Route 5.
Modern architecture marries an historic infrastructure with the power plant's renovation.
Currently home to the highly popular restaurant The Boathouse, as well as the Virginia Boat Club (VBC) and VCU Crew Club, the Power Plant building once played a huge role in providing Richmonders with transportation. Originally built around 1887, the plant powered RVA's electric trolley car system — which were also the first electric trolleys in the country! After the trolleys' heyday ended, the power plant sat unused for many decades, just waiting for a new moment to shine.
Today, not only is it an architectural remnant of Richmond's past, but it's also a remarkably modern structure (transformed by H&A Architects & Engineers). In fact, the old power plant’s redesign is so creative and beautiful that H&A has since won awards for their renovation: Merit Winner, IDEAS2 Award by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) and the Commendation for Architecture Award from the American Institute of Architects (AIA), Hampton Roads Chapter.
A flyer for the original brewery that brought beer caves to Rocketts Landing.
Located along the banks of the James
River, at the edge of our Fall Line building, the historic beer caves at Rocketts Landing are a unique treasure in RVA's rich history. In a nutshell, the caves are remnants from James River Steam Brewery,
which D. G. Yuengling Jr. opened in the 1860s and closed in 1879. The caves are
between 45-feet and 95-feet in length, and stored what became a popular beer for
Richmond society. A beer garden also once existed on the grassy area above the
beer caves and served as a meeting spot for RVA's German society to talk
politics. Even when James River Brewery closed, the beer garden still attracted
people to its tasty view. And despite a fire that blazed the beer caves in
1891, their remnants have remained amazingly intact since that time.
A look inside the beer caves at Rocketts Landing. Photo credit: Chris Johnson
Though the beer caves have remained unused since the 19th century, we have great plans in store to revitalize this historic gem into an underground restaurant. Additionally, in January 2014, the beer caves were added to the Virginia Landmarks Registry — and have been nominated to the National Register of Historic Places.
4. Old Steel Facility
along the riverbanks beside where our community's pool resides, you'll see an
empty building shell awaiting redevelopment. Digging up history on the site's
been a bit tricky, but so far our sources say it once was home to a steel manufacturing
facility, as recently as the 19th century. Today, the historic structure sits waiting to reawaken as a destination along the James River. As we
learn more details, we'll be sure to share!
Though it looks deserted now, this building has a new life awaiting it along the James River.
Today, Rocketts Landing is a thriving community with Richmond's only marina.
To discover and share all the stories and history surrounding us at Rocketts Landing, we’d need more space than our blog can hold — more like a whole book! We truly appreciate that we're connected to such old (and new!) amazing experiences that continue to define our community — and Richmond, right around the river.